How To: Use Rubik's Cube notation and terminology

Use Rubik's Cube notation and terminology

Since its invention in 1974, the Rubik's Cube has become a favorite pastime among geeks, puzzle lovers, and other similarly unique individuals. It is currently available in four basic flavors; Rubik's Mini, Rubik's Cube, Rubiks Revenge, and Professor's Cube. This video tutorial will cover the basic terminology and notation used in solutions for each.

Each cube has six faces, colored red, orange, yellow, white, green and blue, and is divided into sections called cubelets, also called the cubies or pieces, that can be rotated in groups called slices or layers. There are three different kinds of cubelets, centers which have only one colored face, edges which have two colored faces, and corners which have three colored faces.

If you want to know more about solving the Rubik's Cube with simple notation and terminology, all you have to do is watch.

While you're stuck at home, make the most of your time by learning a new language, skill, or even train for a remote-work job with our new premium online courses.

Check them out >

Our Best Phone Hacks

Gadget Hacks' tips — delivered daily.

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest